General topics.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Kuz1
Forum Newb
Model: 1500/1600
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Main and rod bearings

Post by Kuz1 »

I am new to Datsun , just trying to help a friend put the motor ,that a shop took apart in 2006, back together. It’s a 1969 1600 . Apparent the last guy ordered bearings for an “L” block , but this is an “R” block . Can anyone give me a source for bearings ?
MattC
Roadster Fanatic

Re: Main and rod bearings

Post by MattC »

I would start at datsunparts.com
Matt

1970 2000 #14204
2004 350Z Roadster
2014 Tundra

Williamsville, NY
Solex68
Site Supporter
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Post by Solex68 »

Kuz1 wrote: Mon Sep 25, 2023 2:02 pm I am new to Datsun , just trying to help a friend put the motor ,that a shop took apart in 2006, back together. It’s a 1969 1600 . Apparent the last guy ordered bearings for an “L” block , but this is an “R” block . Can anyone give me a source for bearings ?
R16 5 main bearing blocks and U20 blocks use the same bearings and they can be found on ebay often from older shops as well as datsunparts.com, sincitydatsuns.com, datsun-roadster-parts.com and probably datsunrestorationproducts.com as well.
You'll need to measure the crank to buy the correct size bearings.
I've had great experiences with all the vendors I listed.
Good luck and let us know the progress.
Greg a.k.a SOLEX68 - http://www.datsunvents.com/
Laguna Hills, CA
68 2000
Always willing to help another Datsun Roadster owner
Pending installs: SS brake lines, Stan Stealth Dizzy
Nissanman
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

Post by Nissanman »

As Solex68 mentioned, the crank and rod bearings need to be measured, competently, to ascertain what bearings are required.
This not something that I have ever trusted myself to do, it requires some whizz bang tools and perhaps machining of the surfaces to achieve.