Total newbie: New to roadsters -- new to cars.

Here you can introduce yourself to the group.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

eab
Roadster Newby
Model: 1500/1600
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Total newbie: New to roadsters -- new to cars.

Post by eab »

Hi everyone,

My name is Evan and I'm a total newbie when it comes to cars. I have been driving since I was a teenager but never really got into cars when I was younger, and have spent all of my adult life in large cities relying on transit and car sharing to get around.

I learned to fly single engine aircraft recently and became fascinated with the mechanics of the engine. I can't do any of the maintenance on the planes at the flying club and I'm no longer living downtown in a big city so I figured an older car would be a great place to teach myself how to maintain and improve an engine. After a month or so of research I decided a Datsun roadster was the car for me and began shopping for one (finding this community was a big plus and I'm excited to participate here more!). A 1969 1600 was listed on Craigslist close me last week and I'm now the proud owner of it!

The car runs and drives great for a 54 year old car with the original engine! My goal with this car is to make incremental improvements to it over the next year and get the engine run as smoothly as possible.

I have a couple tech questions about the electrical system and the engine, but I'll start new threads for those in the tech discussion forum.

Looking forward to getting to know folks here!
S Allen
Site Admin
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

Re: Total newbie: New to roadsters -- new to cars.

Post by S Allen »

Evan,

Glad you joined us. It looks like you scored a pretty nice Roadster. Please feel free to ask any questions you might have. Enjoy. Enter your car in the registry if you don't mind.
https://www.311s.org/index.php/roadster ... ntry-form/

Steve
66 Stroker-Going Orange
67 SRL311-00279-resto project
Stock '72 240Z-Blue