General topics.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

DAC21
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter
Model: 1500/1600
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

Question for you DIY Bodywork folks

Post by DAC21 »

Have a look at my Valance. It is the only significant body work I need to tackle. I have no experience but willing to learn,(thank you YouTube)
What are the required tools pre-bondo, Hammers/ Dollys? A lot of sales this Memorial weekend so I thought I might pick up what I would need.

Like this set.

https://www.amazon.com/HORUSDY-Piece-Re ... B1FX&psc=1

Can the straightening be performed on the car?

Thanks for the feedback

The photo will rotate after clicking on it.
IMG_20210924_130444819A_HDR.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
1967 1600 in waiting SPL311-09002 / R-28178
2018 Hyundai Elantra GT Sport Ultimate
redroadster
Roadsteraholic
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Re: Question for you DIY Bodywork folks

Post by redroadster »

I'm a novice body guy
per personal experience. I've watched many things done though
But That likely has considerably stretched the piece, so a shrinking hammer would help with a bucking bar behind , it's a tougher body operation to get like new also wide sheetmetal visegrips may be the 1st bend
It's likely you have to use the pick hammer to dent it back then putty it flush to take out the stretch created
Last edited by redroadster on Tue Jun 06, 2023 8:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
Datsun dealer tech 76 to 87
Mitsubishi tech 9 yrs
Volvo, Kia, Toyota too
6 month - Rolls Royce
ASE MASTER TECH 96. - 11
70 SPL 86 Z31 T , Sportster
Nissanman
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

Post by Nissanman »

Doesn't look too bad to me. I would try bracing the ends and gently pulling on the centre section to bring it back straight.
Hammer and dolly work may be required but us it sparingly so that the metal doesn't get stretched out of shape.
You won't know how clever you may be if you don't have a go :wink: :wink: