Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

ScottieR
Forum Newb
Model: 1500/1600
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

R16 Long head bolt damage

Post by ScottieR »

I’m wondering if anyone knows exactly what might happen if the long head bolt on the R16 is used without the engine lifting bracket in place?

I’m a complete noob when it comes to head gaskets, I’ve done various engine, gearbox & diff swaps in the past, but I tend to try to keep them all as sealed units :)
But when my R16 ended up with milkshake looking oil I thought I’d bite the bullet and pop the head off to see what the issue might be.
Once I got in there I found that the gasket appears to be mostly ok, but I did also find that the previous owner has installed the long head bolt without also installing the engine lifting bracket.
Aside from the fact that I’ve got water in my oil, the head seemed to be seated fine and all head bolts felt like they’d been tightened to roughly the same amount when I removed them.
So what I’m wondering is, if that rear bolt has been torqued to spec but is ¼ inch longer than the other bolts, is it likely to have damaged the block where it’s bottomed out?
Does anyone have an experience with this?
Is there any way I can tell if damage has been done without removing and pulling down the engine?

Thanks,
Scott
Habitat.pat
Roadsteraholic

Re: R16 Long head bolt damage

Post by Habitat.pat »

Scottie, I’m sure others will post on this, but if you are interested in finding out if the bolt did bottom out, put the head on without a head gasket & run the bolts down until they bottom out. Do not torque. You can now measure the distance between the head & the bottom of the bolt head & compare it to the thickness of the used gasket. That will tell you if that bolt was applying enough clamping force.

When reassembling the engine run a bottom tap down the bolt holes to clean out the cruft so you can get an accurate torque.

Peace, Pat
67.5 SPL311 Stroker Restomod