Engine Rattle around 4k rpm, timing chain?

Tech tips and how to's

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

AmishRoadster
Roadster Newby
Model: 2000
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Engine Rattle around 4k rpm, timing chain?

Post by AmishRoadster »

Last year I got a 68 2000 up finally got it up and running. I noticed though that when I got into higher RPMs (around 4000) I would get a loud rattle sound, presumably near the front of the motor. The rattle is only when it gets into the higher RPMs. I am guessing it is maybe the timing chain?? I just pulled the motor/trans to work on some leaks and wanted to check the timing chain. From what I have read here it sounds like I should check the evil “L” bracket, which looks to have already been removed. Is there a process to check the timing chain slack? Since I am new to working on these cars I posted some additional pics of the motor incase there is something that stands out to check while I have the motor out. Thanks for any help!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
1968 Roadster 2000
1963 Ford Galaxie 500
unklpat
Roadster Fanatic

Re: Engine Rattle around 4k rpm, timing chain?

Post by unklpat »

Rotate your motor clockwise from front to TDC and check the amount of tensioner shaft exposed. Your upper sprocket shows significant wear. Way better to change sprockets and chains now, than to have to do it in the car later. Pat
Gregs672000
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter

Post by Gregs672000 »

Agreed on the cam gear wear, probably the others too. Plan on replacing all, along with chains.
Welcome! Sorry for the bad news...
Greg Burrows
'67 2000 #588
Tacoma, WA
spyder

Post by spyder »