For the racers out there!

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

jr02518
Roadster Fanatic
Model: 1500/1600
Year: High Windshield-68-70

Is anyone auto crossing their Roadster?

Post by jr02518 »

Yes, I am new to the world of Datsun Roadsters. I have acquired a 1970, 1600 and am getting it back into "driver" condition. The car had been driven regularly until two years ago when a cascade of things overwhelmed the previous owner. It is now running, unmasking a number of issues that need attention. But the reason for the post...

The car has 135,000 miles. Stored indoors when not used. There is no need to "restore" the car, I can live with a driver. But "drive", I will. Locally we have a very active SCCA Solo2 program that has a class/group for older Historic cars. They incorporate a Supplemental Regs section into the bylaws that reflect reality of using and driving old cars. The SCCA HCS/HCR bylaws are also incorporated. If you are a "rule purest", it could drive you nuts. Bottom line, it's a place for old cars to compete, in Southern California. www.solo2.com

My car will compete in Historic1, H Street. I will be running a set of first series Falken 615k, 195/60 14 tires on the Ansen rims that came with the car.
Getting the car running is the first task, shifting is next and then stopping. Lots of parts have been ordered, received and are getting installed. The previous owner had RnR'ed lots of the suspension. At the front the upper and lower ball joints were addressed and it has a set of new "KYB's" at all four corners.

So, anyone up for "insite, advice or go fast parts you might have on a shelf"? I have a bunch of Morgans to chase.

David
rwmann
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter
Model: 2000

Re: Is anyone auto crossing their Roadster?

Post by rwmann »