Shame on me for my impulse buy

You can let the rest of us know about a bad or a good experience you had. Please stick to the facts and keep your emotions/feelings in check regarding shame. This is a sensitive topic and will be monitored.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Mackn367
Site Supporter
Model: 1500/1600
Year: Low Windshield-64-67.5

Shame on me for my impulse buy

Post by Mackn367 »

Where do I begin? Well first things first I will explain that I am extremely new to all Datsun Roadsters and even this forum. A few weeks ago my brother-in-law let me borrow his '70 1600 and I immediately fell in love. I then went on the hunt for one to buy here in California. I found a few but they just weren't close enough for me to "pull the trigger." I then came across Roadsterwerx and saw one for sale. There were not many pictures. Only the outside. I contacted Michael and he was able to provide me more pictures. It "appeared" to be a great buy! Here is what the listing on Craigslist said word for word:
"Complete 68 Datsun Roadster. Sitting for many years. 1600 4 speed. Motor turns, straight no rust body. Hardtop. Original black plates, title in hand, no back fees. Great project foundation."

Well that's what the ad said, but when i went to see the car it was not exactly what i expected based on the ad. This was not "complete" so i have no idea what they meant. It was missing A LOT of parts, including engine parts, interior, exterior, etc. I asked if we could check the compression to which he said no. Too many parts were missing to even see if the motor would "turn" as the ad also stated. LONG story short I bought the car. He DID have it towed to my house and he did include a few extra parts (a few emblems, side chrome pieces, windshield wipers, air intake, misc box of very old/broken pieces). But in talking with multiple people/professionals I found out I very much overpaid for the car especially in the condition it was in.