Tire Pressure and racing?

Tires and rims is always coming up. Discuss these item here!

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

Skyman
Roadster Fanatic-Site Supporter

Tire Pressure and racing?

Post by Skyman »

I've got a question regarding tire pressure and racing. I was told these marks were on the tires to help indicate proper pressure, and you should show cornering wear to the marks. Did some laps at Miller Motorsports Park tonight. Here are photos (bad ones) of the front and back. It would appear that the fronts should be where they should be, but the rear is not worn to the same mark. Do you run staggered pressure? I know, total noob question.

Front

Rear

Thanks.
67.5 SRL311-00060
67.5 SPL311-14241
2004 Porsche 911 Turbo
2003 Ford Powerstroke; Piped & Chipped
pebbles

Re: Tire Pressure and racing?

Post by pebbles »

i dont know much about racing, however i am running 26 in front and 24 in back, in my cheapo noob tires.
so far so good. 28 f 26 r is next.
lower pressure creates a little more drag, which equates to more traction, right?
David

"When we were standing next to the motor while on the dyno, and the motor hit VVL, eyes went watery.."
Garm
Roadster Enthusiast

Post by Garm »

^ Only if there is enough pressure so that the tire doesn't roll over. I haven't raced the Roadster yet, so I don't know pressures. On my Yaris (FWD) I run higher pressures in the back to help the tail come around.

That second shot shows some scuffing way down the sidewall. That's from contact with the pavement, and not fender or other rubbing?
Again, I don't know Roadsters and racing yet, but that would not be acceptable on my other race car.

Next time you go out, try chalking up your tires so you can see exactly what your contact patch. It's a great trick. If you have a laser heat reader, that can help too.
1969 Roadster 1600-ish #26244 "Spike"
---------------------------------
OS GIKEN LSD $1720
AASCO light flywheels $398.95
Skyman

Post by Skyman »