1969 S13 SR20DET Project

Here can put pictures and write-ups about your roadster or other vehicles.

Moderators: notoptoy, S Allen, Solex68

SR311DET
Roadster Nut

1969 S13 SR20DET Project

Post by SR311DET »

Background

My name is Eric Straw, I am 25 years old and I live in Corvallis, Oregon where I am a student at Oregon State University. I’m a Datsun 510 guy that has pretty much fallen in love with Roadsters. My background is I bought my first 510 when I was 15 for 100 dollars and now have owned 6 of them.

My love affair with Roadsters started with me asking Michael Spreadbury at Spriso Motorsports for some help on my 510 that I was working on and he was nice enough to consult me and sorting out the many issues I was having on wiring and many other small things.

Then it snowballed from there. I have free time and love to work on cars therefore I started helping him on projects to repay his time that he helped me. We quickly found out that we work well together and can help each other out in our goals to build and restore Datsuns.

To skip forward we agreed that if I helped him build Bob (a SR20DE powered 1969 Datsun Roadster) he would help me build another 510 that was SR-powered which would be very creative to say the least. So I started sourcing parts for a 510 and found a great deal of 510 stuff online and calling all of my friends that might have some clean parts.

I found a shell that would work perfect. We spent about 8 months building Bob as I was collecting parts for the 510 project. Working with Michael, I was learning a lot throughout the whole process of the build. We were working exceptionally well together and becoming very creative at bouncing ideas of each other.

I was very surprised at all the differences in a Roadster from a 510 as everything is nut and bolted and very busy cars—compared to a roadster, 510’s are easy.